Staff

The Authority employs 60+ staff members in the areas of Finance, Administration, IT, Development, Marketing, Operations, and Public Safety.  Listed here are the key contacts for each department.

View the Organizational Chart

Administration

Suzie Baker

Director of Administration

Phone: 828-684-2226 x13233

sbaker@flyavl.com


Deputy Executive Director, Development + Operations

Michael A. Reisman, A.A.E.

Deputy Executive Director, Development + Operations

Phone: 828-684-2226 x13253

mreisman@flyavl.com


David Nantz

Safety Manager

Phone: 828-684-2226 x13232

dnantz@flyavl.com


Rita Yanz

Development Coordinator

Phone: 828-684-2226x13252

ryanz@flyavl.com


Executive Assistant to the Director

Ellen Heywood

Executive Assistant to the Director

Fax: 828-684-3404

Phone: 828-684-2226 x13231

eheywood@flyavl.com


Executive Director

Lew Bleiweis, A.A.E.

Executive Director

Phone: (828) 684-2226

lbleiweis@flyavl.com

Lew S. Bleiweis, A.A.E., has over 20 years experience in the aviation industry with the majority of his time focused on airport management, including areas of properties, operations, maintenance, purchasing, and risk management.

Prior to Mr. Bleiweis’ relocation to Asheville, he served as the Director of Properties for the Louisville Regional Airport Authority, Louisville, Kentucky. He joined the Louisville Regional Airport Authority in 1999 as Properties Manager and was then promoted to Director of Technical Services.

Prior to that time, Mr. Bleiweis held several positions with the Kansas City Aviation Department, Kansas City, Missouri and the Roanoke Regional Airport Commission, Roanoke Virginia.

Mr. Bleiweis has served on the Board of Directors for the American Association of Airport Executives, and has also served as the President of the Southeast Chapter – American Association of Airport Executives. He is an Accredited Airport Executive (A.A.E.) by the American Association of Airport Executives, and he received his Bachelor of Science degree in Aviation Business Administration/Airport Management from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University.


Finance

Janet Burnette

Director of Finance

Phone: 828-684-2226 x13234

jburnette@flyavl.com


Information Technology

Cortez Johnson

Network Engineer & Interim Director of IT

Phone: 828-684-2226 x13250

cjohnson@flyavl.com


Marketing and Public Relations

Tina Kinsey, C.M.

Director of Marketing, Public Relations + Air Service

Phone: 828-684-2226 x13238

tkinsey@flyavl.com


David King

Guest Services + Sales Supervisor

Phone: 828-684-2226 x13663

dking@flyavl.com


Alexandra Bradley

Marketing + PR Specialist

Phone: 828-684-2226 x13236

abradley@flyavl.com


Operations and Maintenance

Sherman Stark

Interim Director of Operations & Maintenance

Phone: 828-684-2226 x16214

sstark@flyavl.com


Ron Mundy

Maintenance Supervisor

Phone: 828-684-2226 x13249

rmundy@flyavl.com


Laura Mikkonen

Custodial Coordinator

Phone: 828-684-2226 x13752

lmikkonen@flyavl.com


Public Safety

Kevan Smith

Public Safety Chief

Phone: 828-684-2226 x13241

ksmith@flyavl.com


Mike Miller

Public Safety Captain

Phone: (828) 684-4577

mmiller@flyavl.com