Asheville Regional Airport - Weather

Close the Weather Widget
Asheville
 
 

Staff

The Authority employs 60+ staff members in the areas of Finance, Administration, IT, Development, Marketing, Operations, and Public Safety.  Listed here are the key contacts for each department. View the Organizational Chart

Executive Director

Lew Bleiweis, A.A.E.

Executive Director
Phone
(828) 684-2226
eheywood@flyavl.com

Lew S. Bleiweis, A.A.E., has over 30 years of experience in the aviation industry with the majority of his time focused on airport management, including areas of properties, operations, maintenance, purchasing, and risk management.

He has been with the Greater Asheville Regional Airport Authority since 2008, and has led the organization since 2009.  During his tenure, he has grown the organization from a non-hub airport to a thriving small hub airport with over one million passengers, increased the airport’s fund balance from just over $7 million to $31 million, while overseeing $100 million+ in capital expansion projects, inclusive of the airport’s first parking garage.

Prior to Mr. Bleiweis’ relocation to Asheville, he joined the Louisville Regional Airport Authority, Louisville, Kentucky in 1999, where he held several positions including Director of Properties.

Mr. Bleiweis also held several positions with the Kansas City Aviation Department, Kansas City, Missouri and the Roanoke Regional Airport Commission, Roanoke, Virginia.  

Mr. Bleiweis is currently serving as Airport Council International North America’s (ACI-NA) Vice Chair, and as a member of ACI World Governing Board.  He has served as Chair of the ACI-NA U.S. Policy Board, a Member of the Board of Directors for American Association of Airport Executives (AAAE), President of the Southeast Chapter AAAE.  He is an Accredited Airport Executive (A.A.E.) by the American Association of Airport Executives, and he received his Bachelor of Science degree in Aviation Business Administration/Airport Management from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University.

Deputy Executive Director, Development + Operations

Michael A. Reisman, A.A.E.

Deputy Executive Director, Development + Operations
Phone
828-684-2226 x13253
mreisman@flyavl.com

David Nantz

Safety Manager
Phone
828-684-2226 x13232
dnantz3@flyavl.com

Rita Yanz

Development Coordinator
Phone
828-684-2226x13252
ryanz@flyavl.com

Executive Assistant to the Director

Ellen Heywood

Executive Assistant to the Director

Fax: 828-684-3404

Phone
828-684-2226 x13231
eheywood@flyavl.com

Finance

Janet Burnette

Director of Finance
Phone
828-684-2226 x13234
jburnette@flyavl.com

Information Technology

Shane Stockman

Director of Information Technology
Phone
828-684-2226 x13240
sstockman@flyavl.com

Marketing, Public Relations + Air Service

Tina Kinsey, A.A.E.

Director of Marketing, Public Relations + Air Service
Phone
828-684-2226 x13238
tkinsey@flyavl.com

Alexandra Bradley

Brand & Experience Manager
Phone
828-684-2226 x13236
abradley@flyavl.com

David King

Guest Services + Sales Supervisor
Phone
828-684-2226 x13663
dking@flyavl.com

Sierra Fender

Marketing + PR Coordinator
Phone
828-684-2226 x13239
sfender@flyavl.com

Operations and Maintenance

John Coon, A.A.E.

Director of Operations and Maintenance
Phone
(828) 684-2226, ext 15102
jcoon@flyavl.com

Daniela Lajos

Operations Supervisor
Phone
828-684-2226 x16214
dlajos@flyavl.com

Jeremy Arthur

Maintenance Supervisor
Phone
828-684-2226 x13249
jarthur@flyavl.com

Crystal Hale

Custodial Supervisor
Phone
828-684-2226 x13752
chale@flyavl.com

Public Safety

Kevan Smith

Public Safety Chief
Phone
828-684-2226 x13241
ksmith@flyavl.com

Samuel Sales

Public Safety Captain
Phone
828-684-2226 x14577
ssales@flyavl.com