ATTENTION: Arrive AT LEAST 2 hours prior to boarding time.  

Close the Weather Widget
Asheville
82°
84°
Tue
84°
Wed
83°
Thu

The Authority employs 80+ staff members in the areas of Administration, Finance, Information Technology, Marketing and Public Relations, Operations, Planning, Properties and Contracts, and Public Safety. Listed here are the key contacts for each department.

Organizational Chart

President + CEO

Lew Bleiweis, A.A.E.

President + CEO
Phone
(828) 684-2226 x3231
eheywood@flyavl.com

Lew S. Bleiweis, A.A.E., has over 30 years of experience in the aviation industry with the majority of his time focused on airport management, including areas of properties, operations, maintenance, purchasing, and risk management.

He has been with the Greater Asheville Regional Airport Authority since 2008, and has led the organization since 2009.  During his tenure, he has grown the organization from a non-hub airport to a thriving small hub airport with over one million passengers, increased the airport’s fund balance from just over $7 million to $31 million, while overseeing $100 million+ in capital expansion projects, inclusive of the airport’s first parking garage.

Prior to Mr. Bleiweis’ relocation to Asheville, he joined the Louisville Regional Airport Authority, Louisville, Kentucky in 1999, where he held several positions including Director of Properties.

Mr. Bleiweis also held several positions with the Kansas City Aviation Department, Kansas City, Missouri and the Roanoke Regional Airport Commission, Roanoke, Virginia.  

Mr. Bleiweis is currently serving as Airport Council International North America’s (ACI-NA) Chair.  He has served as Chair of the ACI-NA U.S. Policy Board, a member of ACI World Governing Board, a Member of the Board of Directors for American Association of Airport Executives (AAAE), and President of the Southeast Chapter AAAE.  He is an Accredited Airport Executive (A.A.E.) by the American Association of Airport Executives, and he received his Bachelor of Science degree in Aviation Business Administration/Airport Management from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University.

Ellen Heywood

Executive Assistant to the President + CEO
Phone
828-684-2226 x3231
eheywood@flyavl.com

Chief Administrative Officer

Tina Kinsey, A.A.E.

Chief Administrative Officer
Phone
828-684-2226 x3238
tkinsey@flyavl.com

Chief Financial Officer

Janet Burnette

Chief Financial Officer
Phone
828-684-2226 x3234
jburnette@flyavl.com

Chief Operating Officer

Lexie Farmer, C.M., M.P.A.

Chief Operating Officer
Phone
828-684-2226 x3253
lfarmer@flyavl.com

DEPARTMENTS


Administration + Human Resources

Angela Wagner

Vice President Administration + Human Resources
Phone
828-684-2226 x3233
awagner@flyavl.com

Tanya Hensley

Human Resources + Administrative Assistant
Phone
828-684-2226 x5079
thensley@flyavl.com

Finance

Janet Burnette

Chief Financial Officer
Phone
828-684-2226 x3234
jburnette@flyavl.com

Karen O'Connor

Accounting Administrator
Phone
828-684-2226 x3251
koconner@flyavl.com

Information Technology

Shane Stockman

Vice President Information Technology
Phone
828-684-2226 x3240
sstockman@flyavl.com

Marketing, Public Relations + Air Service

Alexandra Ingle

Brand + Experience Designer
Phone
828-684-2226 x3236
aingle@flyavl.com

Heather Pfeffer

Marketing + PR Coordinator
Phone
828-684-2226 x3239
hpfeffer@flyavl.com

David King

Guest Services + Advertising Manager
Phone
828-684-2226 x3663
dking@flyavl.com

Operations + Maintenance

John Coon, A.A.E.

Vice President Operations and Maintenance
Phone
828-684-2226 x5102
jcoon@flyavl.com

Daniela Lajos

Operations Manager
Phone
828-684-2226 x6214
dlajos@flyavl.com

Jeremy Arthur

Maintenance Manager
Phone
828-684-2226 x3249
jarthur@flyavl.com

John Markopoulos

Custodial Manager
Phone
828-684-2226 x3752
jmarkopoulos@flyavl.com

Planning

Jared Merrill

Vice President Planning
Phone
828-684-2226 x5113
jmerrill@flyavl.com

Anna Henderson

Planning Coordinator
Phone
828-684-2226 x3759
ahenderson@flyavl.com

Properties + Contracts

Christina Madsen

Vice President Business Development + Properties
Phone
828-684-2226 x5112
cmadsen@flyavl.com

Kathy Price

Business Development + Property Manager
Phone
828-209-5061
kprice@flyavl.com

Public Safety

Samuel Sales, A.M.F., ACE

Public Safety Chief
Phone
828-684-2226 x4577
ssales@flyavl.com

Kelly Smith

Public Safety Captain
Phone
828-684-2226 x4577
ksmith@flyavl.com